Home » Article Type » Book Reviews

Book Reviews

Book Reviews

Populism and EU reaction

2 April 2018

This book argues that despite the supposed threat to democracy from populist movements, the anti-populist reaction is worse; a reactionary viewpoint characterising populist movements as xenophobic, anti-democratic and totalitarian.

A new vision needed

19 December 2017

This report from IPPR gives a good, detailed analysis of our situation. It rightly suggests we need a new economic approach, but says too little about what must be done to put things right.

Brexit: how the Nobodies beat the Somebodies

11 December 2017

This slim but jewel-packed volume that sets out to explain how Britain voted to leave the EU – as seen by a relatively isolated campaigner in one of Britain’s most Remain-friendly cities, Brighton.

Safer out than in?

23 November 2017

Veterans for Britain has produced an extremely useful free pamphlet showing that leaving the EU will have little if any impact on Britain's national security or counter-terrorism capabilities.

Dunkirk: the film and the book

16 October 2017

Christopher Nolan’s film Dunkirk, is an evocative but unusual portrayal of the evacuation of the British and French armies from the French port in June 1940. Joshua Levine’s fascinating book gives a more complete picture of why Dunkirk is of such singular importance.

A different game

18 September 2016

Dave Roberts celebrates the real ethic of British football in a new book, Home & Away, through a grand tour of Britain with a collective of working class ‎non-league supporters.

A strike worth remembering

26 February 2016

The historian and novelist John Tully tells the story of a forgotten strike of 1889. This book brings the struggle of those workers back to life and gives an insight into how our class developed into an organised labour movement.

Concorde: engineering marvel

13 February 2016

Concorde was a great British engineering achievement. This book tells the story and explains the significance of Concorde for British engineering against the backgound of industrial decline.

Capitalism: leading to an early grave

23 November 2015

A book by eminent researcher Sir Michael Marmot shows that people at relative social disadvantage suffer worse health and live shorter lives and gives evidence about how that can be prevented. 

The USA: a force bad for the world

23 November 2015

The WikiLeaks files of US State Department cables reveal how the US government operates in world affairs. This book provides a thorough analysis of the different ways the US government keeps its power.

Pages

Twitter